Availability · Free to read · 7 min read
ChatGPT in Germany: plans, prices and what's unavailable
In Germany ChatGPT Plus costs 23 euros a month, Go 8 euros and Pro from 103 euros; the basic version is free (as of October 2026). Go, Plus and Pro are billed monthly and can be cancelled at any time. Since late August 2026 ads have been gradually rolling out in the free version and Go, while Plus and Pro are ad-free. Some features are not available in Germany, such as the health and finances areas, which only run in the US. The Atlas browser and the Sora video app are not blocked, though: they have been shut down worldwide.
Explanations like this by email, regularly – start for free ↓
ChatGPT · Availability in Germany and the EU
AvailableOpenAI · Checked on 18 October 2026
- Price
- €0
- Regions
- Germany and EU
- Devices
- Web, iOS, Android, desktop app for Windows and Mac
Unlimited text chats with GPT-6 Luna; may show ads. An ad-free variant with fewer messages and no image creation is available.
- Price
- €8/month
- Regions
- Germany and EU
More uploads, images and voice chats than Free; may show ads, and there is no ad-free Go variant. Cancel monthly.
- Price
- €23/month
- Regions
- Germany and EU
Ad-free; GPT-6 Sol, more Deep Research and ChatGPT Work on desktop, web and mobile. No annual plan.
- Price
- from €103/month
- Regions
- Germany and EU
Three tiers (100, 200 and 500 US dollars); OpenAI does not state euro prices for the higher tiers. Dots for Pro not in the EU.
- ChatGPT Business6Available
- Price
- €21 (Standard) or €105 (Premium) per person/month
- Regions
- Germany and EU
For teams of 2 to 200 people; the page leaves open whether annual or monthly billing is meant.
- Regions
- US only
The German pricing table lists both areas, but the help pages say they are only available in the US.
- Regions
- EU
Excluded in the EU at launch in July 2026; no current EU status is documented.
- Regions
- Discontinued worldwide
Sora shut down on 26 Apr 2026, Atlas on 9 Aug 2026; not an EU block.
What ChatGPT costs in Germany (as of October 2026)
Opened from Germany, OpenAI's German pricing page lists four plans for individuals: Free for 0 euros, Go for 8 euros, Plus for 23 euros and Pro from 103 euros a month. If you subscribe on chatgpt.com in Germany, you pay in euros. Opened from another country, the same page often shows a different currency such as dollars, so don't be surprised.
According to OpenAI, Pro comes in three tiers at 100, 200 and 500 US dollars a month, which differ mainly in how much you can use. The German pricing page does not show euro prices for the two more expensive tiers. There is no annual plan for Go, Plus or Pro; all three are billed monthly.
OpenAI does not state explicitly on the pricing page whether the euro prices include VAT. What counts is the amount shown at checkout. If you subscribe through the App Store or Google Play, Apple or Google handle billing, according to OpenAI in your local currency.
For companies there is ChatGPT Business. The German business page lists 21 euros per person per month for the Standard seat and 105 euros for the Premium seat, for teams of 2 to 200 people. The page does not make clear whether these euro amounts apply to annual or monthly billing; the dollar figures next to them distinguish the two. Large organisations can get Enterprise; OpenAI only gives its price on request.
Which plan suits whom
According to OpenAI, Free offers unlimited text chats but only limited uploads, images, voice chats, Deep Research and memory. Since October 2026 Free and Go use the GPT-6 Luna model. Go adds more uploads, more images, more voice chats and a longer memory, but may show ads.
Plus is ad-free and uses GPT-6 Sol instead of Luna in chat. It adds advanced reasoning models with usage caps, more Deep Research, the Sites website feature and ChatGPT Work on desktop, web and mobile. Pro brings the highest limits, Pro reasoning with GPT-6 Astra (limited on Plus) and the always-on assistant Dots, which is not enabled for Pro users in the EU.
Our assessment, not our own test: if you only use ChatGPT now and then, you don't need a subscription. If you work with it daily or don't want to see ads, Plus is the best fit. Go mainly makes sense if the free version runs short on uploads and images and ads don't bother you. Pro is for professionals who regularly hit the limits of Plus. We explain the choice between Go and Plus in detail in a separate comparison.
Ads in Free and Go
On 18 August 2026 OpenAI announced that ads in ChatGPT would expand to 31 European countries, including Germany. OpenAI only said "next week"; according to Notebookcheck, 24 August was the planned date. OpenAI does not confirm an exact start date for Germany, and ads are being rolled out gradually. Ads only appear in Free and Go. According to OpenAI, Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and Edu remain ad-free.
Ads appear below an answer and are labelled. They do not appear in temporary chats or next to sensitive topics such as health or politics. Accounts that OpenAI identifies as belonging to minors get no ads. According to OpenAI, personalised ads are not initially available in the European Economic Area; ads are chosen based on the current chat. OpenAI says advertisers receive no chats, only aggregated figures such as views and clicks. That is the company's own claim.
The only way to avoid ads without paying is in the free version: OpenAI offers an ad-free variant with fewer messages per day and without tools such as image creation. According to OpenAI you find it in the settings under the ad controls. There is no ad-free variant of Go.
What is missing in Germany or arrives later
Health and finances: According to OpenAI, the health area, where you can connect your health data, is only available in the US. The same applies to the finances area, which analyses bank accounts. The German pricing table lists both features, but the help pages explicitly name only the US.
Dots: The always-on assistants for Pro customers have been available since late September 2026, but according to OpenAI not in the European Economic Area, Switzerland or the UK. Business customers with a Business Premium seat get them in all supported regions.
Sites: With Plus and Pro, ChatGPT can build small websites. At launch in July 2026, public publishing and the expanded beta were excluded in the EU according to OpenAI. The help pages do not say whether that has changed since.
Agent and memory: For longer tasks that ChatGPT carries out on its own, ChatGPT Work has been available since July 2026. According to OpenAI, Work is available in all supported regions, so also here; in Free and Go only in limited form in the desktop app. Memory is available on all plans, limited on Free. When memory of past chats arrived in 2025, users in the EU had to switch it on themselves. According to OpenAI, memory features can still vary by region.
Some things arrive late: Computer History for Pro on the Mac reached the EU a week after its first launch, which had excluded Europe. And since 13 July 2026 ChatGPT is available again on WhatsApp, even without an account. OpenAI usually does not explain in its notes why features reach the EU later or not at all.
Not blocked but discontinued: Atlas and Sora
The ChatGPT Atlas browser no longer exists, worldwide. According to OpenAI it stopped working on 9 August 2026. Instead, the ChatGPT app for Windows and Mac has a built-in browser that ChatGPT can use to open websites and carry out tasks there. For Chrome, OpenAI offers an extension where available.
The Sora video app has also been discontinued. The app and website stopped working on 26 April 2026, and according to OpenAI the developer interface was to follow on 24 September 2026. This affects all countries, not just Germany. If you created videos there, OpenAI says you can download them through an export page while it still offers one. The ChatGPT pricing page currently does not list video generation as a feature.
Age, age checks and cancelling
Minimum age: According to the EU terms of use, you must be at least 13 years old or the minimum age required in your country to consent. If you are under 18, you need permission from your parents or legal guardian.
Age checks: Since 25 August 2026 OpenAI has been gradually rolling out age prediction in the EU too. It draws on topics, times of use and how long the account has existed, among other signals. If the system thinks you are under 18, it automatically switches on a teen mode with extra safeguards, even if you entered a date of birth. Adults can correct this by confirming their age with the provider Persona, if their account offers that option, using a live selfie, an ID document or both. According to OpenAI, Persona deletes the ID and selfie within 7 days, and OpenAI itself does not receive them.
Cancelling: You cancel where you subscribed. On chatgpt.com that is under Settings and Billing; with Apple or Google, in their subscription settings. Deleting the app does not cancel the subscription. After cancelling you can keep using the plan until the end of the month you paid for.
According to the EU terms, you can withdraw without giving a reason within 14 days of purchase and get a pro-rated refund. If OpenAI raises the price, it must tell you at least 30 days in advance; the increase then applies from the next renewal.
AI news, clearly explained – in your inbox
Simply Understood sends you a regular briefing on the topics you care about: what is new, what it means for you and what you can try. With sources and a focus on Germany and the EU.
Sources
- ChatGPT – pricing (German pricing page, opened from Germany on 18 Oct 2026)
- OpenAI Help: Multi-currency billing
- OpenAI Help: What is ChatGPT Go?
- OpenAI Help: What is ChatGPT Plus?
- OpenAI Help: About ChatGPT Pro tiers
- OpenAI: Business pricing (German page, opened from Germany on 18 Oct 2026)
- OpenAI Help: ChatGPT release notes
- OpenAI Help: Ads in ChatGPT
- OpenAI: ChatGPT Ads expands across Europe (18 Aug 2026)
- Notebookcheck: ChatGPT – ads from Monday and how to get rid of them in Germany (German, 22 Aug 2026, updated 5 Oct 2026)
- OpenAI Help: What to know about the Sora discontinuation
- OpenAI Help: Health in ChatGPT
- OpenAI Help: Finances in ChatGPT
- OpenAI Help: Getting started with your dot
- OpenAI Help: Creating and using ChatGPT Sites
- OpenAI Help: Memory in ChatGPT
- OpenAI: Terms of Use for the European Economic Area (EU Terms of Use)
- OpenAI Help: Age prediction in ChatGPT
- OpenAI: Our approach to age prediction (update of 25 Aug 2026)
- OpenAI Help: Canceling your ChatGPT subscription
- OpenAI Help: ChatGPT Atlas retirement
Created with AI assistance and editorially approved before publication.