Comparison · Free to read · 5 min read
ChatGPT Go vs Plus: which plan do you need in Germany?
In Germany ChatGPT Go costs 8 euros a month and ChatGPT Plus 23 euros (as of October 2026). Go mainly extends the free version with more uploads, images and data analysis, but it may show ads. Plus is ad-free and adds the stronger reasoning models, more Deep Research (still with a per-plan allowance) and tools such as Codex and ChatGPT Work. For everyday questions and writing Go is usually enough; for demanding work Plus is the better fit.
ChatGPT Go or ChatGPT Plus
Checked on 11 October 2026
- ChatGPT Go:
- 8 € a month on the pricing page opened from Germany; VAT not stated
- ChatGPT Plus:
- 23 € a month on the pricing page opened from Germany; VAT not stated
- ChatGPT Go:
- Available, cancel monthly, no annual plan
- ChatGPT Plus:
- Available, cancel monthly, no annual plan
- ChatGPT Go:
- Unlimited everyday chats, more uploads, images and data analysis than Free, thinking mode with GPT-6 Luna (rollout ongoing, help page still says GPT-5.6 Luna)
- ChatGPT Plus:
- Stronger GPT-6 reasoning models, Deep Research, Codex, ChatGPT Work, images with thinking, faster responses
- ChatGPT Go:
- No GPT-5.6 Sol, no legacy models, limited Deep Research, slower under high demand
- ChatGPT Plus:
- Usage caps for the strongest models; longer thinking has to be switched on manually
- ChatGPT Go:
- Training opt-out; ads not personalised in the EU for now; no EU data residency
- ChatGPT Plus:
- Training opt-out; no ads; no EU data residency
- ChatGPT Go:
- May show ads, in Germany since August 2026 (from 24 August according to Notebookcheck)
- ChatGPT Plus:
- Ad-free
- ChatGPT Go:
- Heavy everyday use with photos and files, if ads do not bother you
- ChatGPT Plus:
- Thorough research, demanding work, coding, use without ads
Our take: Choose Go if the free version mainly falls short on uploads and images and ads below the answers do not bother you. Choose Plus if you regularly need thorough research, long analyses or coding help, or want to work without ads altogether. For occasional questions the free version is enough.
What Go and Plus cost in euros (as of October 2026)
Opened from Germany, OpenAI's German pricing page lists 8 euros a month for Go, 23 euros for Plus and from 103 euros for Pro. Notebookcheck reported the same euro amounts in September 2026. According to OpenAI there is no annual plan for any of these three tiers; they are billed monthly and can be cancelled at any time.
One pitfall: the same German-language pricing page shows dollar amounts (8, 20 and from 100 dollars) when it is opened from a connection outside Germany. OpenAI says purchases are generally billed in US dollars and only selected regions get local currency billing. The euro is listed for the European Economic Area.
The pricing page does not say explicitly whether the euro prices include VAT. Rely on the amount shown at checkout.
Models and limits: what Plus adds
According to OpenAI, both tiers include unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse protection. Compared with the free version, Go offers more uploads, more images, more data analysis and a longer memory. Go also has a thinking mode. OpenAI currently describes the model behind it inconsistently: according to the pricing table, Go uses the new GPT-6 Luna, and GPT-5.6 Luna is no longer included there. The release notes of 7 October 2026 say Free and Go get GPT-6 Luna from 8 October, with a gradual rollout. The Go help page, however, still names GPT-5.6 Luna. So whether your account has already switched may vary. The larger GPT-5.6 Sol and older legacy models are not included in Go.
Plus unlocks the stronger reasoning models of the GPT-6 family, though with usage caps. It also adds extended Deep Research, which according to OpenAI still comes with a plan-dependent allowance that ChatGPT shows you, faster responses, the coding assistant Codex and ChatGPT Work on desktop, web and mobile. According to the pricing table, scheduled tasks are included in both plans. The maximum amount of text per input is also the same on Go and Plus, according to the pricing page.
A practical note: according to Notebookcheck, since September 2026 Plus no longer switches to longer thinking on its own. If you want the stronger answer, you have to pick the thinking level yourself.
Ads, images and voice compared
Ads: according to OpenAI, ads may appear on the free tier and on Go, while Plus and Pro stay ad-free. OpenAI says it does not show ads to accounts it identifies as belonging to users under 18. Notebookcheck reports that ads have been running in Germany since 24 August 2026. They appear below an answer and are labelled as sponsored. OpenAI says personalised ads are not initially available in the European Economic Area; ads are chosen based on the current chat. An ad-free option with fewer messages exists only for the free tier, not for Go.
Images: Go allows more image creation than the free version. According to the pricing page, Plus offers more complex and accurate images plus image generation with thinking, which Go lacks.
Voice: OpenAI's own pages contradict each other here. The pricing page promises more voice chats for Go, while the Go help page lists the same limits as the free tier. So do not count on more voice time with Go.
Privacy: the same on both, apart from ads
On both tiers OpenAI may use your chats to improve its models. You can switch this off in the settings under Data controls. According to OpenAI, Temporary Chats are not used for training but may be kept for up to 30 days for safety reasons.
Go adds advertising. OpenAI states that it does not pass chats, names or precise locations to advertisers, only aggregated figures such as clicks. That is the provider's own claim. Neither Go nor Plus offers guaranteed storage only in the EU (data residency); according to the pricing page this is reserved for business plans.
Some new features launch later in the EU, for example the website feature Sites or the health section. This affects Plus and Go alike, or mainly Plus.
Who needs which plan?
The following is an editorial recommendation based on the provider's information, not our own test.
Go fits if you use ChatGPT daily for questions, letters, photos of documents or small spreadsheets and mainly run into upload or image limits on the free version. In return, ads may appear below the answers.
Plus is worth it if you do long research, want hard questions thought through carefully, write code or use ChatGPT for work. Anyone who does not want to see ads also ends up with Plus, because there is no ad-free version of Go.
If you only ask something now and then, you need neither. The free version also allows unlimited text chats.
Sources
- ChatGPT pricing (German pricing page, opened from Germany on 10 Oct 2026)
- OpenAI Help: What is ChatGPT Go?
- OpenAI Help: Ads in ChatGPT
- OpenAI Help: What is ChatGPT Plus?
- OpenAI Help: Multi-currency billing
- OpenAI Help: Data controls in ChatGPT
- OpenAI Help: ChatGPT release notes
- Notebookcheck: ChatGPT ads from Monday and how to get rid of them in Germany (German, 22 Aug 2026, updated 5 Oct 2026)
- Notebookcheck: ChatGPT Plus at 23 euros no longer thinks on its own (German, 17 Sep 2026)
- OpenAI: ChatGPT Ads expands across Europe
- OpenAI Help Center: Deep research in ChatGPT
Created with AI assistance and editorially approved before publication.